Top Marketer FAQs – How Do You Set Up FTP to Upload Your Website to Your Web Host?

Now that you have your website ready, it is time to upload all of your files to your web host. Although many web hosts have online file uploaders, it will take a very long time to upload each file individually. You will want to use an FTP client to do a bulk upload of your entire site with one click.

First you will need your FTP login information from your web host. If your host uses a cpanel access, you will navigate to the FTP account area in the cpanel. The host would have automatically created a default account for you when they created your webhosting account.

Click on the “configure FTP” button and it will bring up your login information. If you have not already installed your software, you will need to do that first. Open the software and click on the “connect” in the menu. This should bring up a window or login box depending on the software you are using.

From the information provided by the host, you will fill in all of the necessary fields. This will include your host location. This is usually ftp.yourdomain.com, you will also input your username and password. Once connected, you will have two sections in the FTP software. One area will be your files on your computer, the other section will be the files in your web host. If your site is new, there may not be any files showing in the host side.

Now on your desktop side, you need to navigate to the website files that you want to upload into your webhost. Now all you need to do is highlight the files you want to transfer and click the arrow or add to queue and click to transfer. This will begin the process of copying all of your website files to your web host server.

When it is complete, open your browser and type in your site URL and you should be able to see your website. Any time you make changes to your website, you will need to FTP the updated file to your web host. The software will prompt you to rename or overwrite existing files. If you are updating, you will choose to overwrite the old file. This prompt is there to prevent you from overwriting files with duplicate names by accident.